South Metro Development Outlook Conference

South Metro Development Outlook Conference


Transit, Smart Cities, Autonomous Vehicles, and the Aerotropolis

By Michael Davis


On Thursday, February 20, 2020, 7:00 AM – 2:00 PM, the 18th Annual South Metro Development Outlook (SMDO) Conference “Vision 2020” will be held at the Georgia International Convention Center in College Park, Georgia. The SMDO highlights the growth, opportunity, and the collaboration between government, elected officials, economic development organizations, private sector partners, and industry leaders. The South Metro is comprised of Clayton, Coweta, Douglas, Fayette, Henry, and South Fulton counties and the City of Atlanta.

If you are interested in learning more about South Metro Atlanta development, networking with the key stakeholders, or investing, the SMDO is a must-attend event on your business calendar.

With the emergence of the Aerotropolis, and the global Aerotropolis phenomena have changed conventional thinking and the narrative about airport area development, the South Metro area has emerged as a preferred commercial development choice in Georgia. The South Metro is home to the Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (HJAIA) which has an economic impact $35 billion on metro Atlanta and an overall job impact of 240,000. The HJAIA $6 billion ATL Next capital expansion project will transform and provide the airport with increased capacity for the additional 2.5 million in population living in metro Atlanta by 2040.

The state of Georgia added more than 69,000 jobs in 2019 and the state hit a historic low unemployment rate of 3.7% in 2019. The South Metro is positioned for a period of strong growth. This year’s SMDO conference theme is “Vision 2020.” The focus is to create good-paying jobs, help small businesses grow, and enhance quality of life throughout the South Metro.

The SMDO conference welcomes the Honorable Brian P. Kemp, Governor State of Georgia Governor Brian Kemp with a special address. The speakers and panelists will include a “Who’s Who” of municipal leaders and experts in development, transportation, innovation, smart cities, and livability. Some of the speakers are the following:

Robb Pitts (Chairman – Fulton County Board of Commissioners), Jeff Turner (Chairman – Clayton County Board of Commissioners), Vince Williams (Mayor – City of Union City), Bianca Motley Broom (Mayor – City of College Park), Andre Dickens (Chair of Transportation Committee, City of Atlanta), Joan Young (EDMP – President – Fayette

County Development Authority), John Fenn (Executive Director – Henry County Development Authority), Al Nash (Executive Director – Development Authority of Fulton County), John Seldan (General Manager – HJAIA), Kerry Armstrong (Chairman – Atlanta Regional Commission), Jeff Parker (CEO – MARTA), John Rowan (Commissioner – Atlanta Department of Transportation), Michael Paris (President and CEO – Council for Quality Growth), Michael Alexander (Director – Center for Livable Communities Atlanta Regional Commission), Christopher Pike (Economic Development Director – City of South Fulton), Gerald McDowell (Executive Director – Aerotropolis Atlanta CIDs), Shannon James (President and CEO – Aerotropolis Atlanta Alliance), Audrey King (Metro South Regional Director – Georgia Power), Christine Primmer (Smart Cities Manager – Georgia Power), Debra Lam (Managing Director – Smart Cities and Inclusive Innovation Georgia Institute of Technology), Dr. Roger Tutterow (Director of Econometric Center – Kennesaw State University), Michael Hightower (Managing Partner, The Collaborative Firm).






By Michael Davis


Leave a comment

Send a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *