• Loading stock data...

Bruno Mars & Anderson .Paak Team Up For New Band Silk Sonic, Announce New Album

The joint album you didn’t know you needed is on its way. We all know that at the stroke of midnight at the top of Friday (February 26) morning, artists were excitedly tweeting and posting about their new releases to hit streaming services. As fans jumped from one track to the next. Bruno Mars and Anderson .Paak decided to shake things up by revealing that they’ve teamed up and locked in during quarantine to create music together. Mars made an announcement on Twitter.

“We locked in and made an album. The band’s called Silk Sonic. First song drops next Friday 3/5,” the Grammy Award-winning singer shared. According to the photo he posted, their “special guest host” on the record is none other than Funk legend Bootsy Collins, bassist of Parliament-Funkadelic. 

Both Mars and .Paak are known for their vibrant musical stylings that often include sounds that pay homage to the Funk, Soul, and R&B. It will be interesting to hear what they’ve been working on together, especially considering they’ve known each other for years and even toured together back in 2017. We haven’t received a new album from Mars since his Platinum-selling 24K Magic, and the last time we received a full-project from .Paak was when he shared his acclaimed Ventura. Check out their posts above and below.


Bryson Tiller Drops “Anniversary (Deluxe)” Featuring Big Sean & Drake

Following the October release of his album A N N I V E R S A R Y, Bryson Tiller is back with the deluxe version. On the original release, Tiller shared 10-tracks with a lone feature from Drake, and unlike his fellow artists, the deluxe version of his record doesn’t host a bevy of singers or rappers. This time around, the Kentucky native added five more songs with only a solo look from Detroit emcee Big Sean.

Recently, Tiller sat down with Apple Music and discussed why it was a good time to release the deluxe version now. “I feel like things have just been lining up perfectly. I feel like the stars are aligning through divine timing, you know, me and Drake finally getting a song in and we’ve got other stuff, too,” he said.

“Yeah, it just feels like everything is just lining up perfectly from the people I’m working with to the signs that I’m getting from God, you know? Um, they’re there, everything just feels like it’s happening the right way, it just feels like the beginning of a new era, you know?”

Keep an eye out for Bryson Tiller’s forthcoming triple-disc project, Serenity. Stream A N N I V E R S A R Y (Deluxe) and share your thoughts.


1. Years Go By
2. Always Forever
3. I’m Ready for You
4. Things Change
5. Timeless Interlude
6. Sorrows
7. Inhale
8. Outta Time ft. Drake
9. Keep Doing What You’re Doing
10. Next To You
11. Still Yours ft. Big Sean
12. Timeless Interlude Pt. II
13. Losing Focus
14. 7:00
15. Like Clockwork


Noname Surprises Fans With Poetic “RAINFOREST”

Friday (February 6) made for an intense night of releases as artists near and far shared new music, including Noname who surprised fans with her poetic offering titled “RAINFOREST.” The Kount-produced track is Noname’s first single of the year, and like much of her catalog, the Chicago native touches on socio-political issues that plague marginalized communities.

“RAINFOREST” follows Noname’s lone release for 2020, “Song33,” that seemed to be an indirect response to J. Cole’s “Snow on tha Bluff.” The pair traded a few bars about activism before they both gracefully bowed out of the lyrical discussion. This year, Noname’s fans can expect to receive her forthcoming project Factory Baby, so we will keep you updated about that as more information is shared. 

Stream “RAINFOREST” and let us know what you think.


I said baby, come on
You know this flesh is only temporary, brittle as bone
Why don’t you empty out your love for me, then chisel the stone?
These are ten Black commandments, a property loan
‘Cause every bladed grass of earth, we don’t actually own


Freddie Gibbs Covers Poet Gil Scott-Heron's “Winter In America”

We’ve heard a lot from Freddie Gibbs this week after clips from his interview with Joe Rogan have gone viral. The rapper talked about shooting crackheads while also discussing the demise of R. Kelly’s career, but when he’s not sharing his stories on podcasts, the rapper is grinding out new music in the studio. On Friday (February 26), Gibbs’s addition to the Black History Always – Music For The Movement Vol. 2 EP was released and it came in the form of a cover of famed poet and performer Gil Scott-Heron’s “Winter in America.”

The second volume of the EP follows the first installment, I Can’t Breathe, that featured artists like Rapsody, Terrace Martin, and Robert Glasper. The most latest release includes looks from many performers such as Tinashe, Tobe Nwigwe, and Gibbs, who honors Scott-Heron’s work effortlessly. Stream “Winter in America” and let us know what you think.

Quotable Lyrics

Just like the cities staggered on the coastline
In a nation that can’t take much more (Yeah)
Like the forest buried underneath the highway
Nеver had a chance to grow
I nevеr had a chance to grow